Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
George Washington University

Geography  Tags: geography history climatology urban_planning  

This guide is intended to assist those doing research in the area of Geography.
Last update: Jul 07th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.gwu.edu/geography  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started             Print Page
  

Quick Links

 

Related Research Guide

Maps, Cartographic Resources and GIS Information

This guide will help you locate maps, other cartographic resources, and GIS content held at the Gelman Library System and beyond.

 

Atlases

Atlas of North America. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
Location: GELMAN Ref Oversize G1105 .A8 2005

Times Comprehensive Atlas of the World. London: Times Books, 2007
Location: GELMAN Ref Atlas Case G1021 .T55 2007

 

Find Articles

  • GEOBASE  
    Index to worldwide literature on geography, geology, and ecology. Covers journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports. A search will return only citations and abstracts; links to full-text coverage in other databases are in many cases provided. 1980 - present.
 

Find Books

Search for Books in the ALADIN Catalog

 

Find Reference Information

Dictionary of Geography.  Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2009
Contains over 6,400 entries on all aspects of both human and physical geography.  A reference source included in Oxford Reference Online

Columbia Gazetteer of the World. New York: Columbia University Press, c1998.
Location: GELMAN Stacks G 103.5 .C645 1998 (also at Mt. Vernon campus Ref)
A comprehensive encyclopedia of geographical places and features.

World Factbook.   Central Intelligence Agency, 2008.
Search "Select a Country or Location" to find basic geographical information about countries of the world.

 

Guide Author

Profile ImageDavid Killian, Collection Development and Reference Librarian
Contact Info:
Eckles Library, Mt. Vernon Campus
(202) 242-6623
Send Email

Subjects:
Geography, History, American Studies, Africana Studies, Media & Public Affairs, Naval Science, Eckles Library

 

Your Comments?

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait