Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
George Washington University

Geography  Tags: geography history climatology urban_planning  

This guide is intended to assist those doing research in the area of Geography.
Last update: Jul 07th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.gwu.edu/geography  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Reference Information             Print Page
  
 

Related Research Guide

Country Information
A Gelman Library research guide with links to numerous resources providing information on many countries.

 

World Factbook

World Factbook.   Central Intelligence Agency, 2008.
Search "Select a Country or Location" to find basic geographical information about countries of the world.

 

World Geographical Encyclopedia

World Geographical Encyclopedia. 5 v. New York: McGraw-Hill, c1995.
Location: GELMAN Ref G63 .E5213 1995
Gives introductory geographical information on nations of the world; vols. organized by region.

 
 

Find information in encyclopedias and dictionaries

Companion Encyclopedia Of Geography. London, Routledge, 2002.
Location: GELMAN Ref G 116 .C645 2002
Gives scholarly essays on a number of subjects within the geographical discipline; the overall theme of the resource is the interdependency between people and their environment.

Dictionary of Geography.  Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2009
Contains over 6,400 entries on all aspects of both human and physical geography.  A reference source included in Oxford Reference Online

Dictionary of Human Geography. Oxford, Blackwell, 2000.
Location: GELMAN Ref GF 4 .D52 2000
A guide to the concepts, terms, and theories of human geography.

Dictionary of Physical Geography. Oxford, Blackwell, 2000.
Location: GELMAN Ref GB 10 .D53 2000
Provides definitions of terms and explanations of key ideas, concepts and issues in physical geography.

Encyclopedia of Global Change.   Oxford University Press, 2002
Entries present knowledge of natural and anthropogenic changes in the Earth's physical, chemical, and biological systems and resources.

Environmental Encyclopedia. Farmington Hills, MI : Gale, c2003.
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. 

Penguin Dictionary of Geography. London, England ; New York, N.Y., USA : Penguin Books, 2003.
Location; GELMAN Ref G63 .C562 2003
Gives short, concise definitons of the most frequently used terms.

 

 

Guide Author

David Killian, Collection Development and Reference Librarian
Contact Info:
Eckles Library, Mt. Vernon Campus
(202) 242-6623
Send Email

Subjects:
Geography, History, American Studies, Africana Studies, Media & Public Affairs, Naval Science, Eckles Library

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait