Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
George Washington University
Admin Sign In 

ABD Research  Tags: abd dissertation_research doctoral_students education doctoral_student_support  

This guide is to help GSEHD students as they navigate their dissertation research.
Last update: Jul 08th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.gwu.edu/ABD  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Research Instruments             Print Page
  

Methodology talk

  • The Research Companion  
      
    Psychologist and research expert Petra Boynton runs a message board for discussing research, asking questions and swapping tips.
  • Web Center for Social Research Methods  
      
    This website is for people involved in applied social research and evaluation. You'll find lots of resources and links to other locations on the Web that deal in applied social research methods.
  • Social Science Statistics Blog  
      
    This blog makes public the hallway conversations about social science statistical methods and analysis from Harvard's Institute for Quantitative Social Science and related research groups.
 
 

Locating & evaluating instruments

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)

This yearbook, considered the most authoritative resource for finding instruments, is available both in print and online. Includes descriptions and critical reviews for a wide variety of commercially-available tests, as well as publisher information for obtaining a copy of the instrument.

This article, written by an educational psychology professor, provides guidelines for evaluating the validity of an instrument using MMY reviews.

(NVC REF Z5814 .P8 B932)


Tests in Print Online (TIP)

This database includes over 4,000 test instruments that are commercially available, including description of the tests, intended population, scores available, current pricing, and publisher name and address.

As EBSCO databases, both MMY and TIP can be searched concurrently. Also, TIP records link directly to MMY reviews when available.


Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business (6th ed.)

(NVC REF BF176 .T43 2008)


ETS Database

"The Test Collection at ETS is a library of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices that makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students, and teachers. Collected from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest such compilation in the world."

 

Education Librarian @ VCL

Profile ImageLisa Allen


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
703-726-3778
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Counseling, Psychology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait