Refining your search
When searching any of the databases listed to the right, always limit to peer-reviewed journals to obtain authoritative sources. Depending on your topic, you may also want to include qualifiers such as:
- Empirical study
- Case study
- Qualitative OR quantitative
- Research OR study OR methodology
- Data OR findings OR results
If you're not sure how to do this, please contact me!
Multi-disciplinary / Retrospective Databases
- Web of Science Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) * The most comprehensive database in ALADIN, covering all social science disciplines
* Great for interdisciplinary research
* Includes search feature for finding newer works that cite an older work ("Cited Ref Search")
* Ideal for discovering seminal articles or books and for finding related works - JSTOR * Full-text electronic archive of older scholarly journal content in multiple disciplines (issues published in the last 3-5 years are excluded)
- PsycINFO (via EBSCO) * The premier psychology database, from the APA
* Includes psychology, both theoretical and applied, and related behavioral science disciplines
* Can be searched concurrently with other EBSCO databases, such as the education database, ERIC, and the business database, Business Source Premier - Sociological Abstracts (via CSA) * Covers international literature in sociology and related social sciences
* Great resource for literature searches on social issues, organizational culture, organizational change, and related topics
* Can be searched concurrently with CSA version of ERIC - Periodicals Archive Online (formerly PCI) * Historical coverage of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences
* Includes journals in business/management, education, psychology, sociology and general social sciences
* Retrospective coverage goes back to 1665 for some journals - Humanities and Social Science Retrospective * Citations to articles in important scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the humanities and social sciences
* Covers 1907-1984
Education Librarian @ VCL |
Lisa AllenOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
703-726-3778
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Counseling, Psychology
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
703-726-3778
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Counseling, Psychology
Description
Loading content... please wait









Loading content... please wait