Japan Studies: Home

The Japan Resource Center (JRC) was established in 2005 to provide support for advanced study on Japan to the GW community, especially those at the Elliot School of International Affairs, and to researchers in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. The scope of the JRC's collection includes the history, politics, economy, public policy, national security, culture, and foreign relations of Japan after the Meiji Restoration (1868), with an emphasis upon the 20th century, in accordance with the academic focus of the Elliott School. The collection format consists of monographs, periodicals, newspapers, reference materials, and databases.

GW Okinawa Collection builds on the existing collection in the the Japan Resource Center and features scholarly materials that explore Okinawa from the past to the present from multiple perspectives. Established in June 2015, the Okinawa Collection is a collaboration between the Okinawa Prefectural Government and GW Gelman Library. Generously funded by the Okinawa Government, the Okinawa Collection features scholarly materials on Okinawa from the past to the present from multiple perspectives.

Do you want to brush up on your Japanese? Are you thinking of taking an exit exam in Japanese?

Check the Japanese Language Study Library Guide.

Contact:

• Okinawa Studies Research Guide including US-Japan Military Base Issues, Senkaku Islands, Films, Textiles and the Battle of Okinawa etc.
• Okinawa Collection Recent Acquisition
• Japanese Language Learners Reading Guide
• Guide to Locating Japanese & Okinawa-related Resources
• HIST3601.10 Empires and Legacies Northeast Asia (Spring 2020)

Interested in Japan-related books on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion? See the Selection of books on DEI issues on 'Find Books' tab.

Currently at the Global Resource Center, we have a display of books to highlight increased spotlight on diverse topics (e.g. sexual orientation, disability, cultural diversity) in a recent Japanese society. Hope you'll stop by.