This guide includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources, indexes to journal articles, sources for reproductions, and web links to local libraries.
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2013
A Short Guide to Writing about Art
Call Number: N 7476 .B37 2011
A highly useful guide for students who are new to art history and need to write research papers or exam essays.
After using ArticlesPlus from the Gelman Library home page, below are good places to start your search.
- Oxford Art Online
The complete text of The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Grove Dictionary of Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetios, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, with ongoing additions of new material and updates.
- International Bibliography of Art
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art. Now published by ProQuest, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). It includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-9 as part of BHA, with ProQuest adding 25,000 new records yearly to maintain unbroken coverage. Subjects include fine art in all media; archaeology; museum studies and conservation; and more.
- BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art
For research on European and American art from late antiquity to the present. 1973 - present.
- ARTbibliographies Modern
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, second exhibition reviews, with many links to full text. Includes artists and movements from late 19th century Impressionism to the present day. Includes photography from its beginnings as well as new and lesser-known artists.