Search ABI Inform Plus
Search Business Source Premier
Individual Periodicals
- Disaster Recovery Journal Both the hard copy journal and access to the online site are free.
- Contingency Planning & Management Both the hard copy journal and access to the online site are free. Includes a searchable archive of past issues.
- Homeland1 Editorial calendar shows articles planned for upcoming issues. No articles are available online, but you can register for a free trial print subscription.
- Homeland Security Newsletter Published monthly by the Anser Institute, this newsletter contains original articles as well as links to articles from government sources, newspapers, and other popular press. Online subscriptions are available with archives back to 2002 available online.
RefWorks
For help email the RefWorks Support Team at Gelman Library at
refworks@gelman.gwu.edu
RefWorks allows you to store and file your references and citations in different
folders, add research notes or other information, and format your
paper, dissertation, or other research project with the click of a
button.
Databases
- ABI/Inform ABI/Inform is a primary database for business and management topics. Indexes about 800 publications, including research journals, trade journals, and popular business magazines. Provides citations and abstracts for all articles.
- American Society of Civil Engineers Provides full-text access to 29 journals published by ASCE 1999 to present. Of particular interest is the journal Natural Hazards Review.
- Business Source Premier Similar to ABI Inform (above).
- Compendex A comprehensive index to more than 3000 journals and conference proceedings from all areas of engineering. Includes only citations and abstracts.
- Emerald Library Provides full-text articles from over 130 management journals published by MCB University Press. Coverage is 1989 to present.
- GEOBASE Part of the OCLC FirstSearch family of databases. Indexes over 2000 journals, books, conference proceedings, and reports on geography, geology, and ecology. Coverage is from 1980 to present. Only citations and abstracts are provided. Good for topics dealing with natural and environmental disasters and hazards.
- National Emergency Training Center This catalog is a major resource for identifying literature dealing with crisis management and natural hazards. It includes periodical articles as well as books.
- PsycInfo Covers over 1300 journals and books in psychology and related disciplines from 1887 to present. Good for topics on psychological, organizational, and social aspects of crisis, emergency, disaster, and risk management. Includes only citations and abstracts.
- Sociological Abstracts Indexes articles from about 800 journals relevant to sociology and related disciplines. Useful for finding articles on social aspects of crisis, disaster, and risk management. Coverage is from 1963 to present and includes only citations and abstracts.
Individual Research Journals
These are professional research journals published in the area of crisis and emergency management. All sites provide instructions for submitting articles, a list of editorial board members, subscription information, and tables of contents and/or abstracts. Except as noted, these journals do not provide full-text articles online. None of these journals are held at WRLC libraries, but GW students, faculty, and staff can request articles through Interlibrary Loan.
.
- International Journal of Emergency Management Began publishing in 2001. Click on "Journals" in the left menu bar, then scroll to the journal title.
- Journal of Emergency Management Began publishing in 2003 and has only one issue online. Table of contents and abstracts are provided, but not full-text.
- Journal of Homeland Security and Emergency Management First issue published in 2004. Abstracts and full-text are available online.
- International Journal of Mass Emergencies and Disasters Began publishing in 1982. Provides tables of contents and/or abstracts for 1995 to present.
- Natural Hazards Review Began publishing in 2000. Abstracts and full-text are available online.
- Disasters: The Journal of Disaster Studies, Policy and Management Began publishing in 1977. Provides tables of contents and/or abstracts for 1997 to present.
Subject Guide |
Shmuel Ben-Gad(202) 994-1353
Send Email
Subjects:
business, economics, engineering management and systems engineering, Judaic studies, organizational sciences, public administration
Search EJTF
e-Journal Title Finder
Search for online journals, newspapers, and magazines available through ALADIN.
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait