Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
George Washington University
Admin Sign In 

Crisis, Disaster, and Risk Management  Tags: crisis_management disaster_management risk_management emergency_management disaster_relief natural_disasters industrial_accidents civil_defense fema homeland_security  

This is a guide to information resources for researchers working on topics in crisis and emergency management.
Last update: Aug 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.gwu.edu/crisis  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Commercial and NGO Resources             Print Page
  

University Research Centers

  • University of Colorado/Natural Hazards Center (NHRAIC)  
    Includes links to a number of valuable research sources. These include the full-text of articles from newsletters and journals published by the Center, working papers, conference papers, etc. The site also provides access to the HazLit Database, an online catalog of over 22,000 items in the Center's library.
  • University of Delaware/Disaster Research Center (DRC)  
    DRC has studied a broad range of disaster types, including hurricanes, floods, earthquakes, tornadoes, hazardous chemical incidents, plane crashes, civil disturbances, and riots. This site includes descriptions of current projects, as well as extensive bibliographies of DRC publications, including books, articles, preliminary papers, etc. Only some of the publications are available full-text online; others can be purchased through the Center.

Risk Resources

  • Risk and Insurance Management Society (RIMS)  
    Provides a range of services for society members, including conference announcements, job listings, and a catalog of publications. Several articles from the last few issues of the society's magazine, Risk Management, are available online.
  • Risk World  
    Extensive coverage of news on risk assessment and management with archives of news stories back to 1995. Also provides abstracts of papers from recent conferences and a collection of research reports, many of which are available online.
  • Society for Risk Analysis  
    Highlights include the table of contents of the society's journal, links to sources of specific risk-related resources (data, models, technical reports, etc.), and a glossary of risk analysis terms.
  • Public Entity Risk Institute  
    A resource to enhance the practice of risk management throughout organizations and communities. PERI provides relevant and high quality enterprise risk management information, training, data, and data analysis. The free publications and short courses are especially useful.
 

US NGOs

  • American Red Cross (Disaster Services)  
    Gives an overview of the work of the American Red Cross, including reports on Red Cross projects world-wide. Also includes news coverage of disasters and relief efforts.
  • Association of State Floodplain Managers  
    ASFPM is involved in floodplain management, flood hazard mitigation, the National Flood Insurance Program, and flood preparedness, warning and recovery. Site includes information on conferences, publications, grants and fellowships, job listings, and links to related web sites.
  • Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI)  
    Provides information on meetings sponsored by EERI as well as updates on seismic legislation. A catalog of EERI publications is available, but only a few select articles and reports are available full-text online.
  • National Hurricane Center/Tropical Prediction Center (NOAA)  
    Issues watches, warnings, forecasts, and analyses of hazardous tropical weather. Includes satellite and radar images, information on hurricane awareness, and historical storm-related data.

International Organizations

.

  • United Nations ReliefWeb  
    News and information on humanitarian emergencies and natural disasters, with a focus on improving relief efforts. Includes a searchable database of over 50,000 documents dating back to 1981 and an extensive collection of maps.
  • United Nations International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (formerly IDNDR)  
    ISDR focuses on creating disaster prevention strategies and reducing social and economic disruption caused by disasters. This site includes information about ISDR as well as UN documents on disaster reduction.
  • World Health Organization  
    Part of WHO's mission is to provide aid during emergencies. This site provides extensive information on diseases and health topics. Includes links to health-related databases available free on the Web.
  • Pan American Health Organization  
    Regional office for the Americas of the World Health Organization. Includes health statistics, reports on health topics, links to related sources, and news on health issues.
  • United Nations Development Programme  
    UNDP partners with United Nations relief agencies and helps countries to prepare for, avoid, and manage complex emergencies and disasters. This site provides extensive information and reports on UNDP projects.
  • European Community Humanitarian Office (ECHO)  
    ECHO's role is to provide humanitarian aid in response to natural disasters and armed conflict in countries outside the European Union. This site includes statistics, reports, and descriptions of ECHO's operations.

Commercial Sites

  • Time Line Series  
    This site provides online access to the popular "Disaster Time Line," "Terrorism Time Line," and "Homeland Security Time Line" created by Claire Rubin & Associates.
  • National Homeland Security Knowledge Base  
    This site provides an extensive set of links to U.S. and other government agencies as well as international and research organizations. Focus is on various threats to homeland security including nuclear/radiological, biological, chemical, and explosives, as well as natural disasters.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait