Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
George Washington University
Admin Sign In 

Crisis, Disaster, and Risk Management  Tags: crisis_management disaster_management risk_management emergency_management disaster_relief natural_disasters industrial_accidents civil_defense fema homeland_security  

This is a guide to information resources for researchers working on topics in crisis and emergency management.
Last update: Aug 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.gwu.edu/crisis  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find US Government Resources             Print Page
  

Federal Government

  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security  
    This official site features press releases and other documents that define the role and work of DHS. Emphasis is on these areas: Emergencies and Disasters, Travel and Transportation, Immigration and Borders, Research and Technology, and Threats and Protection. Much of the focus is on terrorism, but natural disasters and other emergencies are also addressed. A good source for remarks by government officials on issues related to terrorism and national security.
  • Homeland Security Digital Library 2002-  
    This is a database that compiles documents relevant to homeland security policy and the national strategy related to that discipline. Information contained in the HDSL originates from federal, state and local government agencies, research institutions, universities, and think tanks. The collection maintains documents created since 2002, while some collections contain earlier documents that are relevant to current initiatives. It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.
  • Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)  
    Part of the Department of Homeland Security, the FEMA site includes information about on-going disaster responses, various response plans, key emergency management officials at the State and local levels, documents, and other resources.
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Emergency Preparedness  
    EPA's site covers prevention, risk management, preparedness, emergency response, and counter terrorism. Also includes information on regulations, software, publications, and links to related web sites. A key site for information dealing with hazardous materials, chemical accidents, and oil spills.
  • U.S Geological Survey  
    Has sections covering land-based natural hazards (earthquakes, floods, volcanoes).
  • National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration/Office of Response and Restoration  
    Access tools, information, and software for responders to oil spills, chemical accidents, hazardous materials releases, and ship groundings.
 

State and Local Emergency Organizations

  • National Emergency Management Association (NEMA)  
    NEMA is an organization of state-level emergency management officials. The NEMA online library provides full-text access to documents and presentations from NEMA committees. This site also includes information on NEMA membership, conferences, job listings and a directory of Emergency Management contacts by state.
  • International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM)  
    IAEM is an association of local (city and county) emergency management officials. This site provides information on IAEM activities and membership. Selected issues of the newsletter are available online, as well as a bulletin board and discussion list.
  • National Governor's Association (NGA)  
    From the NGA homepage, visit the Site Index and scroll to the Homeland Security and Technology Division. This will lead to sections on Bioterrorism, Emergency Management, and Homeland Security. Within these sections are links to several substantial, full-text publications, including a 2 volume Governor's Guide to Emergency Management, Domestic Preparedness Checklist, and presentations from the NGA Bioterrorism Summit.
  • Center for State Homeland Security  
    Created to help states fulfill their critical homeland security role, this site provides access to full-text articles, legislation, and reports from government agencies and research institutes in a variety of areas, including counterterrorism, public health, and infrastructure protection. Also provides links to state agencies responsible for homeland security and/or emergency management.

Health

  • U.S. Department of Health & Human Services/Office of Emergency Preparedness  
    This office is responsible for coordinating Federal health, medical, and health related social services and recovery to major emergencies and Federally declared disasters including natural disasters, technological disasters, major transportation accidents, and terrorism. This site includes information on the office's Counter Terrorism Program, the National Disaster Medical System (NDMS), and the Metropolitan Medical Response System (MMRS)
  • U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention  
    This extensive site includes health standards and statistics, fact sheets on health information and disease prevention, and health-related news stories. Brochures, software, and other publications are available for download and by order from CDC.
  • Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR).  
    This site features many news and information sources on toxic substances. Highlighights include ToxFAQs, a series of summaries about hazardous substances, HazDat, the database that provides information on the release of hazardous substances from Superfund sites and from emergency events, and Minimal Risk Levels (MRLs) for hazardous substances. "Science Corner" is a gateway to environmental health information and resources on the Web.
  • Disaster Mental Health Services  
    Location: RC451.4.D57 M947 2005
    From the Department of Social Work at Walter Reed Army Medical Center, this guidebook is an introduction to the field of disaster mental health (DMH) for clinicians and administrators. Adobe Acrobat is required to view many sections of the book.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait