This bibliography includes the major information sources at Gelman Library that provide information about U.S. industries.
Last Updated: May 7, 2013
- Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys Quarterly, July, 1977-
Location: READY REF HC 106.6 .S74 (Earlier editions in the stacks)
This consists of basic analyses and current analyses for a number of industries. It is narrative in approach with a number of charts and graphs as well. This is a good source to use in order to gain a view of the nature, prospects, outlook, and major companies of an industry.
- Data Monitor Reports
These can be accessed via the database Business Source Premier by typing industry profile in the top box and changing the box to the right to publication name and typing the industry name in the second box and changing the box to its right to subject. One may also limit by geographic term.
- First Research Industry Profiles
These can be accessed via the database ABI Inform by typing first research industry profiles in the top box and changing the box to the right to publication title and typing the industry name in the second box and changing the box to its right to subject. One may also limit by location.
- ABI/Inform Complete Plus
A great starting place for business research, this database covers business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Includes articles from magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals.
Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources. Biennial. Library retains latest only.
Location: READY REF HF 5353.E52
This very useful reference work provides for each subject it covers (and many of those subject are industries) citations to sources of information such as periodicals, directories, and statistical compilations.