U.S. Data
- Travel and Tourism 2007-
Location: Stat-USA, State of the Nation Library
This includes statistics from the International Trade Administration’s Office of Travel & Tourism which provides such data as monthly top ports of entry; monthly top 20 countries generating travel to the U.S.; annual top 10 international markets; top states, cities and regions Visited; and country and region of origin market profiles. Click on state of the nation and scroll down to State of the Nation Library. - Office of Travel and Tourism Industries This U.S. government website provides various tourism statistics.
- US Travel Association The library has a premier membership to the association and thus has access to a potpourri of U.S.statistics. Go to the members only section. The user id and password are available to current students, faculty, and staff of George Washingto University upon request from the library.
- LexisNexis Statistical Lexis/Nexis Statistical provides indexing to statistics produced by Federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations. There are tables for some of the statistics. For most, only citations ot the documents are given. Many of the documents are easily available online, on paper, or in microfiche.
- Local Market Audience Analyst Provides analysis of geographical areas demographically and also as regards lifestyle interests (e.g. bowling foreign travel). It also provides national information on lifestyle segments (e.g. what sorts of activities people like to do needlework and what else they like to do) and on demographic segments. It is the successor to, and an expansion upon, Lifestyle Market Analyst (below).
- Lifestyle Market Analyst Annual. 1989-1990, 1992-1999, 2001-2008.
Location: HF.5415.3.L5
Provides analysis of geographical areas demographically and also as regards lifestyle interests (e.g. bowling foreign travel). It also provides national information on lifestyle segments (e.g. what sorts of activities people like to do needlework and what else they like to do) and on demographic segments. - Economic Review of Travel in America Annual. 1982/83-
Location: G 155. U6 E32
some of the documents indexed. For many of the others, the statistics are available online, in paper, or on microfiche. - National Household Travel Survey "[A] combined effort of Federal Highway Administration's Nationwide Personal Transportation Survey...and the Bureau of Transportation Statistics American Travel Survey...which were conducted separately in previous years."
- American Travel Survey Provides, "detailed information on long-distance travel in the U.S., states and metropolitan areas.
- Domestic Travel Market Report Annual. 1990-1991, 1993 - 1998, 2000, 2002 -
Location: G 155 .U6 T87
Published by the U.S. Travel Data Center this contains such statistics on travel as mode of transportation and purpose, as well as duration of trips. - Travel Industry Association of America This home page provides statistics under "Research" and information on relevant public policy issues. There are links to other sites.
- Travelers' Use of the Internet Annual 1997, 1999 -
Location: G 155 .U6 T76 - Historic/Cultural Traveler Irregular 2001, 2003
Location: G 156.5 .H47 H5 - Office of Airline Information This site provides airline statistics, including U.S. international passenger data.
- Impact of Travel and Tourism on the U.S. and State Economies Annual 1976, 1982 - 1985, 1987, 1989 - 1990, 1993 - 1999, 2002 -
Location: G 155. U6 I48
Provides data on the effect of travel on each state. Formerly entitled Impact of Travel on State Economies. - Survey of U.S. State and Territory Tourism Office Budgets Annual 1983/84-1996/97, 1999/2000-
Location: G 155. U6 U59
Previously entitled Survey of State Travel Offices and Survey of U.S. State and Territory Tourism Offices
International Data
- Compendium of Tourism Statistics Annual 1983-
Location: REF G 155. A1 T5896 (Earlier editions in the stacks)
Published by the World Tourism Organization, this "provide[s] in condensed form the basic statistical series on national and international tourism supply and demand in the various countries and regions of the world." - Yearbook of Tourism Statistics Annual 1988-
Location: G 149. I73 - Global Market Information Database Provides detailed tourism, marketing, social, and economic statistics. Also available, by clicking o the consukmers tag, are consumer lifestyle reports that discuss, "how and why lifestyles differ from country to country including analysis of household profiles, income, education, eating and drinking habits, shopping habits, leisure and tourism." Access is restricted to George Washington University students, faculty, and staff. Walk-in use by others is not permitted.
- Travel Industry World Yearbook Annual 1983-1986, 1989-
Location: G 155. A1 B54 - Barometer of Travel and Tourism 1989-1992, 1996, 1998
Location: G 155. A1 C87
Formerly entitled Current Travel and Tourism Indicators and Travel and Tourism Barometer. - World Tourism Organization Factbook This provides tables of statistics. Click on Tourism Factbook on the left.
- World Tourism Organization E-Library This provides the full text of WTO documents
- World Travel and Tourism Council Under Economic Research, one can retrieve statistics on the travel and tourism industry in regions of the world and countries. Under Media Centre, one can retrieve press releases.
- Budgets of National Tourism Administrations, 1993-1997 Location: G 155 .A1 B82 1999
- National and International Tourism Statistics, 1974-1985 Locaton: G 155 .A1 0734 1989
- World Travel and Tourism Review Annual 1991-1993
Location: G 155. A1 W67 - Tourism Policy and International Tourism in OECD Member Countries Annual 1971, 1973-1975, 1977-1979, 1981, 1983-1993/1994
Location: G 155. A1 066
Published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, this covers such topics as international tourist flows, government policy and action, and types of transportation used for member countries of the OECD, which are the advanced industrialized nations. - Tourism Market Trends: Africa Annual 1999, 2001-
Location: G 155 .A35 T67
A World Tourism Organization Publication - Tourism Market Trends: Americas Annual 1998, 2001-
Location: G 155 .A45 T68
A World Tourism Organization publication - Tourism Market Trends: Europe Annual 2001-
Location: G155 .E85 T67
A World Tourism Organization publication - Tourism Market Trends: East Asia and the Pacific Annual 1995, 1998, 2001-
Location: G 155 .E13 T67
A World Tourism Organization publication - Tourism Market Trends: Middle East Location: G 155 .N33 T68
A World Tourism Organization publication - Tourism Market Trends: South Asia Annual 1998-
Location: G 155 .E14 T67
A World Tourism Organization publication - Tourism Offices Worldwide Directory This provides links to web sites for, "official government tourism offices, convention and visitors bureaus, chambers of commerce, and similar agencies."
- Travel and Tourism Data by Raymond Baron
Location: G 155. A1 T6557 1989
This "provides guidelines for the collections and analysis of tourism and travel data which, if adopted, will lead to a more uniform system of tourism statistics," "assembles data on international tourism from over 200 countries," and "indicates where additional and updated information on tourism trends can be obtained".
Subject Guide |
Shmuel Ben-GadContact Info:
(202) 994-1353
Send Email
Subjects:
business, economics, engineering management and systems engineering, Judaic studies, organizational sciences, public administration
(202) 994-1353
Send Email
Subjects:
business, economics, engineering management and systems engineering, Judaic studies, organizational sciences, public administration
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait