Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
George Washington University
Admin Sign In 

Tourism and Hospitality  Tags: hospitality hotels tourism ecotourism cruise_lines maps conventions travel restaurants food_service  

Last update: Nov 23rd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.gwu.edu/tourism  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Primary Sources             Print Page
  
 

Contact Information

Special Collections Research Center
Melvin Gelman Library
2130 H St., NW, Suite 704
Washington, DC 20052
(202) 994-7549
Hours: Monday-Friday, 10 AM - 5 PM

For manuscripts and collections inquiries: speccoll@gwu.edu

For University Archives inquiries:  archives@gwu.edu

 

Primary Sources FAQ

What is a primary source?

How do I find resources in the Special Collections Research Center?

  • Check the Aladin Catalog for your topic (if it's here the location will be Special Collections).
  • Check out our website with links to primary materials for various subjects.
  • Or better yet, make an appointment and speak with a librarian in Special Collections at (202) 994-7459 or speccoll@gwu.edu

Why should I use primary sources?

  • Challenging: You become the scholar!
  • Rewarding: Original documents often evoke a sense of time and place.
  • Impressive: Professors will love you!
 
 

Primary Source on Tourism and Hospitality at Gelman Library

The Special Collections Research Center has several collections related to travel and tourism.  This group of collections has records of individuals, such as Professor Agnes Delano, who have traveled and written about their travels and also the records of the Travel Industry Association of America Odyssey Awards records. This collection consists of entry forms, correspondence, brochures and other publications, clippings, ephemera, audiovisual materials and realia submitted for the Travel Industry Association of America's annual Odyssey Awards competitions. The collection documents products, events, and marketing/advertising campaigns created by TIA's members, which promote travel and tourism to destinations in the United States to consumers both in the United States and abroad. These records date from 1993-2005.

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid is a database where thousands of museums, libraries, and archives have contributed information about their collections, including catalog records and/or finding aids.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait