Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
George Washington University

Stocks  Tags: stocks forecasts nyse nasdaq industry_information  

Last update: Aug 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.gwu.edu/stocks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Indexes, Averages, and General Data             Print Page
  

Indexes, Averages, and General Data

  • Datastream  
    This provides a wide range of financial information including for stock indexes. This is best for more in-depth research. There is a manual at the Reference Desk.
  • Standard & Poor's Index Services  
    This provides lists of the companies that comprise the various indices of Standard and Poor's. Also provided are descriptions of the indices, methodologies, additions and deletions, and recent statistics.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States  
    Annual 1879-1946, 1948-
    Also available at: REF AND READY REF HA 202 (Earlier editions in stacks)
    Has a section containing data about stocks including price indexes.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present  
    Location: REF HA 202 .H57 2006
    A companion volume to Statistical Abstract of the United States.
  • LexisNexis Statistical  
    Lexis/Nexis Statistical provides indexing to statistics produced by Federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations. There are tables for some of the statistics. For most, only citations of the documents are given. Many of the documents are easily available online, on paper, or in microfiche.
  • Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation Yearbook  
    Annual. 1987-
    Location: REF HG 4521 .I22 (Earlier editions in the stacks)
    Presents a narrative of history of returns on stocks, bonds, Treasury bills, and of capitalization of stocks and inflation. There are appendices giving the various data as well.
  • Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation: Historical Returns (1926- 1987)  
    Location: REF HG 4915 .12 1989. Also at the Virginia Campus Library
    An historical supplement to the annual (see above).
  • Dow Jones Averages 1885-1995.  
    Location: HG 4915. D6434 1996
    Contains the daily averages, including highs and lows as well as closing when available. There is also a brief history of the averages.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait