Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
George Washington University
Admin Sign In 

United States Census  Tags: census population demographics economic housing government statistics  

This research guide highlights the electronic and print resources published by the U.S. Census Bureau and select resources that accompany Census research.
Last update: Oct 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.gwu.edu/USCensus  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Historical Data             Print Page
  
 

Helpful Tip:

Population and Housing Items on the General Census Schedules 1790 to 2000

Compiled by Grace York of University of Michigan, this chart details the population and housing items on the Census Questionnaires from 1790 to 2000.

 

Measuring America

Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses from 1790 to 2000

This document provides questionnaires and enumerator instructions for each Decennial Census taken in the United States. It includes individual histories of each census.

 

Historical Census Browers

Although American Fact Finder does not include data before the 1990, you can use one of these sites to electronically find data from older Decennial Censuses. If the data you need can not be aggregated in either of these browsers, consult the print volumes of the Census reports you need.

  • US Historical Census Data Browser  
    This site provides easy access to data from ICPSR study number 0003, entitled "Historical Demographic, Economic and Social Data: The United States, 1790-1970".
  • State of the Cities Data System  
    This site, maintained by the Department of Housing and Urban Development's Policy Development and Research Information Service, provides selected demographic and economic data from the 1970 to 2000 Census, for Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Subur
 

Special Collections Resources: DC and Regional Census Materials

The Special Collections Research Center at Gelman Library has many resources relating to the census in and around Washington, DC. These include:

  • Maps of census tract areas
  • Reports by local government agencies on census data
  • Books and other publications that analyze census results for the region

To find these in the ALADIN catalog, use the More Limits button to limit your location to GW: GELMAN Special Collections before starting your search.

If you would like more assistance, please contact the Special Collections Research Center (speccoll@gwu.edu, 202-994-7549). We are located on the seventh floor of Gelman Library and are open to the public M-F from 10 AM - 5 PM.

 

Librarian

Profile ImageTina Plottel


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Gelman Library
Reference Office
202/994-2294
Send Email

Subjects:
Government Information, UW 20

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait