This bibliography includes major sources of primarily multi-country economic information available at Gelman Library. Two other research guides that may prove useful are International Finance and International Trade Statistics.
Last Updated: Nov 29, 2012
- World Development Indicators (WDI)
Location: ALADIN (ALSO READY REF HC 59.15 .W656; EARLIER EDITIONS IN STACKS)
World Development Indicators is a World Bank database of macroeconomic and development data from officially-recognized international sources. Supersedes Social Indicators of Development. Online, it is now combined with Global Development Finance which provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System.
UNCTADstat is a free database of statistics produced by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD). It incorporates all of UNCTAD's online statistical databases, including both current and historical data. Topics covered include population and labor forces; economic trends; foreign direct investment; commodity prices; and many more.
- Global Economic Monitor (GEM)
Global Economic Monitor (GEM) provides daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions along with direct access to high frequency data that is refreshed daily. It provides analysis of current economic trends, economic, financial and commodity data indicators, an extensive database including growth and commodity forecasts and access to the iSimulate modeling platform.
- Global Market Information Database
GMID provides international market intelligence for countries, consumers and industries. Please note: All access to this database is restricted to GW students, faculty and staff who will have to login - even on campus. Walk-in use by others is not permitted.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides access to statistics produced by Federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations. Tables of data are provided.