What's New in Special Collections

Loading RSS Feed...
Search for Collections Worldwide
- ArchiveGrid A searchable database of archival collections--from thousands of museums, libraries, and archives--including catalog records and/or finding aids.
Local Collections
The Dumbarton Oaks Research Library collects materials to support scholarship in Byzantine studies, Pre-Columbian studies, and garden and landscape studies.
The rare materials held at the Folger Shakespeare Library are meant to be actively used and the Folger Library makes its books, manuscripts, and artworks accessible for scholarly use and also in exhibits for the general public. Before visiting please ask the Folger staff if you are eligible to receive a reader's card.
The Library of Congress. Containing approximately 130 million items in virtually all formats, languages, and subjects, these collections are the single most comprehensive accumulation of human expression ever assembled. True to the Jeffersonian ideal, the collections are broad in scope, including research materials in more than 460 languages, more than 35 scripts, and many media.
Archival resources on British Literature at Gelman Library
McManaway Shakespeare Collection. James G. McManaway (1899-1980) donated more than 2200 volumes of Shakespeare to Special Collections. McManaway was one of the most influential and revered scholars of his generation and worked at the Folger Shakespeare Library in various capacities from 1933-1968. He was well known for the enthusiasm, authority, and patience with which he assisted scholars.
A search of the book catalog with the limit set to special collections (choose GW: Gelman Special Collections) and keyword Shakespeare produces a list of 850 titles. Of those titles more than 150 dated before 1900.
Gelman Special Collections is located on the 7th floor of Gelman in Suite 704.
- Louis Wright Papers: Louis Booker Wright (1899-1984) served as the director of the Folger Shakespeare Library from 1948-1968. Wright’s own scholarship is extremely impressive. Over his lifetime he wrote 314 publications. These publications included monographs, articles, reviews, and editions. These publications centered on English and American history and literature.
Subject Guide |
Cathy EisenhowerGelman Library
Room 104
202-994-9508
Send Email
Subjects:
Literatures in English, Romance Languages and Literatures, Women's Studies, Rhetoric and Composition
Contact Special Collections
For manuscripts and collections inquiries: speccoll@gwu.edu
For University Archives inquiries: archives@gwu.edu
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait