American History

Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century.

Provides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.

Provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. This rich library from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) covers subjects including advertising, health, women's issues, education, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

Page-images from more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers illuminating the development of American culture, politics, and society across 150 years.

A photographic archive of high quality images from the Associated Press news wire covering 1820s to the present. Includes news, entertainment, and fashion photography; maps; timelines; graphics and logos; graphs; AP news stories; and audio clips.

Declassified Documents Reference System, now U.S. Declassified Documents Online, provides access to declassified U.S. government documents drawn from Presidential libraries.

Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans (14 vols., 1903-34, 1955-59); and subsequent bibliographic works by Roger Bristol, James Mooney and Clifford Shipton. Includes more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages.

Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America in the early part of the 19th century. Based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801-1819” by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, offers more than four million pages from over 36,000 items. Complements Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.

This database features images and full-text from newspapers across the country. It is based on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820.