Middle East and North Africa: Maps & Atlases

These curated primary source collections, mostly utilizing British colonial government records, contain many resources suitable for Geographical research.

This is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Includes a variety of CIA maps, including the Middle East region.

The David Rumsey Map Collection has over 170 rare, historical maps of the Middle East. This online collection also features an option to view some of these historical maps using Google Earth Maps.

This 90-second video provided by Maps of War illustrates who has controlled the Middle East throughout history.

Offers maps of the worlds by regions.

Lets you fly anywhere on Earth to view satellite imagery, maps, terrain, 3D buildings, from galaxies in outer space to the canyons of the ocean.

World map by MapQuest.

Provides maps range from detailed local areas to the world. Because they can show many kinds of information, they are excellent for a wide range of uses, including emergency response, outdoor recreation, scientific research, and resource management.

Map Collection holds over 80,000 maps, some 3,000 atlases, gazetteers, travel guides, reference works and digital products.

Provides world atlas and the list of of continents, countries, dependencies, islands, territories, lakes, rivers, seas, oceans, mountains, and the highest, lowest, biggest, smallest, tallest, deepest, oldest, youngest places on the planet.

The CORONA Atlas of the Middle East are satellite images of the Middle East (UofAk)

This PBS special provides Middle East maps of the following information: modern socio-political, historic political borders, topographic/resources and Muslim population.

Maps and infographics to explain the world around us.

The University of Texas at Austin Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection features hundreds of country, city, detailed, thematic and historical Middle East maps produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.

The original collection held in the The George Camp Keiser Library of the Middle East Institute, Washington, DC. The collection consists of some 700 volumes of oriental literature and orientalist scholarship, addressing various aspects of the history, culture, politics, literature and languages of the Middle East, the Ottoman Empire, Central Asia, the horn of Africa, the Indian sub-continent, and the Islamic lands. A large part of the collection is comprised of travelogues and other geographical works related to these regions.

Purchased to support the Middle East Institute Collection, this collection lists individual items not included in the catalog listings for that collection, consisting of items like photographs, an Ottoman passport, and European Armenian newspapers.

Collection contains maps of Israel, Palestine, and other areas of the Middle East. Some of the map makers represented here include Gerhard Mercator, Sebastian Mnster, Christian von Adrichem, and Jean-Baptiste Bourguignon d'Anville. The maps, many of them rare, are valuable for scholars studying the Middle East.

This collection contains original and reproductions of lithographs, engravings, and woodcuts of the Holy Land and Europe, cartographic catalogues, and various resources for cartographic collection. The materials date from 1486-2007. The majority of the lithographs were published in the 1830s and 1840s, while the cartographic catalogues are from the 20th Century. The lithographs were produced by noted artists David Roberts, J.M.W. Turner, and others.

This collection contains stereoscopic images of locations and scenes of the Holy Land and Palestine. The stereoscope cards date from 1896-1904. Several of the sets of stereoscopic images have descriptions of their subject printed on the back of the card, though some simply have a location or no additional information. A few of the stereoscope cards are numbered, corresponding to the book, Palestine through the Stereoscope, published by Underwood & Underwood, which provides a description and additional information. This book is shelved separately in Special Collections.

The material in the collection concerns the geology of Iran and the geology of arctic regions including Alaska, Greenland, and Canada. Dr. Daniel B. Krinsley conducted geological field studies in Iran in the 1960s and 1970s. The bulk of the first series is comprised of photographs, ERTS images, and air photographs of the playas of Iran. The first series also includes research files, color images and negatives, and articles written by and gathered by Dr. Krinsley, who was Chief of the Environmental Impact Analysis Program for the U.S. Geological Survey. The material dates from 1932-1999. The collection also includes maps, geographic surveys, journals articles and studies, and other publications concerning the geology of arctic regions and Iran.