Searchable database of more than 750,000 images applicable to different times, cultures, and disciplines. Combination of images, data, and texts provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning, and researching capabilities. Use the Register link to create a free personal account to download and save images. NOTE: Mobile version requires creating a login by registering on ARTstor using a regular workstation first.
A thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval objects from early apostolic times to 1550 A.D. Includes primarily Christian iconography, although some Jewish, Islamic, and non-ecclesiastical subjects are covered. Entries include descriptive information, provenance, location and ownership, bibliographical references, and a photograph of the work of art when available. The Index is property of Princeton University, and users must credit the index in publications arising from research for which the Index was used. NOTE: In a search results screen, click on an entry number to see its full view.
Google Image Search provides many thousands of images at all levels of good and/or bad quality. Descriptions of the images vary greatly, and you must be very careful to assess the quality of the site you are using.
This site provides many reproductions of art historical works by a high number of international artists. Use caution when reading the text, however, since the webmaster is a computer scientist and economist, not an art historian.
The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
More than 42,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
High quality images of fine and decorative art from leading museums around the world. Covers art from around the world from 3000 BCE to the present. Difficult-to-find contemporary art is one of its strengths. Content is rights-cleared for educational use in the classroom or to illustrate papers, web projects and other assignments.