The link below allows keyword searching in databases of many different disciplines, including JSTOR and Academic Search Complete. It does not include any of the other art-specific databases to the right. To search them, please click on individual databases in the box to the right.
A single search will provide results for more than forty databases through ProQuest. Included are some of the most important art databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, Design and Applied Arts Index, and International Bibliography of Art. Many full-text articles are included.
Databases for Articles
Below is a selection of useful art databases. See all art and architecture databases here.
Art & Architecture Source includes full text for over 600 journals and 230 books, and includes a collection of over 63,000 images. It supersedes Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective. There is strong international coverage.
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art. Now published by ProQuest, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). It includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-9 as part of BHA, with ProQuest adding 25,000 new records yearly to maintain unbroken coverage. Subjects include fine art in all media; archaeology; museum studies and conservation; and more.
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, second exhibition reviews, with many links to full text. Includes artists and movements from late 19th century Impressionism to the present day. Includes photography from its beginnings as well as new and lesser-known artists.
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition , it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
Covers journal articles on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Citations from scholarly and popular sources from the U.S. and abroad, including professional associations, regional periodicals, and major international journals. Also included are citations to professional obituaries (often the only available sources of biographical information for less-published architects).
Bibliography of the History of Art covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from over 4,000 periodicals. Published from 1975-2007, this database is succeeded by the International Bibliography of Art which covers records from 2008 to the present.
Covers articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals. Disciplines surveyed include graphic design, fashion and clothing, furniture, interior design, architecture, web design, computer-aided design, garden design, and more.
Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.