Skip to main content

Washington Area Writers: Washington writers primary sources

This guide will help you find published and unpublished materials written and collected by local authors.

primary source

The poem "Color of Sticks" was written by local author Hiram Larew. The first two handwritten drafts are from Hiram's work in progress notebooks. These notebooks are in Hiram's collection held by Special Collections. The third copy is the published poem as seen in the Summer 1999 issue of the literary publication Sea Change.  Please take a look at how you might use primary sources to study Hiram's creative process.

Washington writers primary sources

The Washington Writers Archive contains many documents that together tell the story of the literary community within the Washington Metropolitan Area through publications, personal papers of local poets and writers, and organizational records for small publishing house and community groups.

Here is a list of literary collections containing primary materials for local writers.  Clicking on a name will take you to a description of the documents in the collection. Visit the Special Collections Research Center on the 7th floor (Suite 704) to use these materials.

Bibliographies of literary materials

Literary Collections of Rare Books and other Printed Material The Literary collections also include the Stickney Pamphlet Collection, with pamphlets collected during the late 18th and early 19th Centuries by William Stickney and his father-in-law Amos Kendall on a variety of topics, including various literary subjects.

In addition, Special Collections collects works of fiction set in Washington, D.C. This collection of books is nearly comprehensive for the 19th Century. Here is a bibliography of D.C. Fiction .  You can find information about these books throught the Aladin Catalog.

Similarly, Special Collections is working to build a comprehensive collection of poetry titles printed in the Washington Metropolitan Area or written by poets living in the District of Columbia and its environs.  These titles can be found using the Aladin Catalog.

 

My profile

Jennifer King
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
Gelman Library, Special Collections Research Center, (Suite 704) 202-994-0628
GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558refdesk@gwu.edu