Research Guides: English + Literature + Print History and Culture: Working with Rare Books

Rare Books at GW

Rare books figure prominently in the Special Collections Research Center’s mission to support research and teaching at GW and beyond. We are building and making accessible a rare book teaching and research collection for use by students and faculty of the University as well as the external community.

Books and Printing Resources in Special Collections
A guide to publications relating to book arts and printing in the Special Collections Research Center
Books and Printing Resources in Special Collections
A guide to publications relating to book arts and printing in the Special Collections Research Center
Early Library of the Columbian College
These are the 400+ titles that are recognized as part of the early library of the Columbian College. In 1821, the Columbian College and its Library began its existence, occupying two rooms on the second and third floors of the newly erected College building on College Hill, north of what is now Florida Avenue, between 14th and 15th Streets, N.W. Later in the year, faculty members were sent to Europe to procure library books, among other items. In October of 1823 the ship Electra arrived in Philadelphia carrying philosophical apparatus and books for the Columbian College. There were 3,034 volumes in the library in 1825. The items in this collection are some of what remains from that first collection.
A guide to engravings in Special Collections
Halperin Bible Collection
In addition to presenting a sampling of Bibles from major publishers, the Halperin collection illustrates the standardization of the King James text that occurred in the 19th century. The Halperin collection is of interest for providing examples of 19th century printing, book binding and ornamentation, and material culture. The finest Bibles in the collection have gilt edges, tooled leather bindings, and wood or steel engravings. Some also close with gold clasps. Dr. Halperin’s donation to George Washington University also includes notable European Bibles.
Kiev Collection Catalog
This is a subset of the Libraries' catalog that is limited to the bound volumes identified as part of the Kiev collection. This page will allow researchers to limit catalog searches exclusively to the Kiev collection.
Kiev Judaica Collection
The Gelman Library has diverse and wide-ranging holdings in the field of Hebrew and Judaic studies, including modern Judaica, rare books, and archival materials. Foremost among the resources in the Special Collections Research Center is the I. Edward Kiev Collection, the leading university collection of Judaica in the Washington Research Library Consortium.
Middle East Institute Rare Book Collection
The Middle East Institute Rare Book Collection is the original collection held in the The George Camp Keiser Library of the Middle East Institute, Washington, DC. The collection consists of some 700 volumes of orientalist literature and scholarship, addressing various aspects of the history, culture, politics, literature and languages of the Middle East, the Ottoman Empire, Central Asia, the horn of Africa, the Indian subcontinent, and the Islamic lands. A large part of the collection is composed of travelogues and other geographical works related to these regions. The holdings of the collection vary in language, date, and provenance. Although most of the books are in English, there are many in Arabic, and the rest in other western and oriental languages, especially French, German, Turkish, and Persian.

Provenance Resources for GW's Rare Book Collection

The provenance, or past ownership, of a book or other collection item is an important aspect to understanding books, readers, collections, and libraries. This evidence appears in many different forms in GW Libraries' rare book holdings. You can learn about a book's custodial history through book plates, inscriptions, readers' marks, decorations, bindings, marginalia, and annotations. Finding information about former owners typically requires consulting a variety of resources. The resources described below are some archival sources for researching items from GW Libraries' collections. Researchers may also need to consult specific donor files that are maintained in the Special Collections Research Center. Please contact Special Collections about gaining access to donor files and other collections.

RG0110: Special Collections Department, Gelman Library records
This is an archival collection of materials related to the history and development of GW's Special Collections Research Center. Series 20 contains material related to acquisitions of the special collections and may include materials that contain donor and provenance information related to rare books.
RG0109: Gelman Library Acquisitions Department records
This collection contains memorandums, correspondence, meeting minutes, newsletters, annual report, bibliographies, dedication program, conference agendas, and newspaper clippings. They range in date from 1905 to 1992. The items pertain to purchasing collections, policy, the Washington "Star", donations, the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, the Conference of Leaders of Institutes of World Affairs, the Heinzel collection, and the Wachsmuth collection.
RG0119: Gelman Library Administration records
This collection contains the administrative records of Gelman Library. The materials include photographs, negatives, office records, building plans, posters, correspondence, and publications. They range in date from ca 1825-2005.
RG0139: Gelman Library University Librarian records
Materials in this collection include budgets, reports, and working files from the office of the University Librarian. They range in date from 1991 to 2008.
RG0029: Library Science Alumni Association records
Materials in this collection include four scrapbooks of the library science alumni association (and Luther Rice Society Award presented in 1972). The collection also includes correspondence, meeting minutes, obituaries, annual teas, photographs. The collection covers the years 1929 to 1956.
MS0242: John Russell Mason papers
The John Russell Mason collection consists of records, correspondence, photographs, and ephemeral materials. The materials range in date from 1931 to 1981. The collection covers records documenting his librarianship education at Columbia University, individual exhibits held at the University Library, and records he kept while in office at The George Washington University.

Local Collections

Rare and unique collections in the DC area.

Dumbarton Oaks
Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection supports research and learning internationally in Byzantine, Garden and Landscape, and Pre-Columbian studies through fellowships and internships, meetings, and exhibitions.
Library of Congress: Rare Books and Special Collections Reading Room
LoC's rare book division's collections amount to nearly 800,000 books, broadsides, pamphlets, theater playbills, title pages, prints, posters, photographs, and medieval and Renaissance manuscripts
Folger Shakespeare Library
The Folger Shakespeare Library has the world's largest collection of materials relating to Shakespeare and his works, from the 16th century to the present day, as well as a world-renowned collection of books, manuscripts, and prints from Renaissance Europe.
Georgetown University's Booth Family Center for Special Collections
American University: Archives and Special Collections

English + Literature + Print History and Culture

Understanding Provenance and Rare Book Research

Book Trade Resources

Contact

Rare Books at GW

Provenance Resources for GW's Rare Book Collection

Local Collections

Rare and unique collections in the DC area.