George Washington University
Research Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | W | Y

A
A Brief Guide to Election 2008
by Dolsy Smith - Last Updated Nov 3, 2008
Library and Internet resources on the Presidential election.

ABD Research
by Douglas Carroll - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
This guide is to help GSEHD students as they navigate their dissertation research.

Accounting and Auditing
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Apr 24, 2012
This bibliography includes the most important basic sources for accounting and auditing information in the Gelman Library. Addiitional relevant taxation information can be found in the University's Jacob Burns Law Library.

Africana Studies
by David Killian - Last Updated Aug 25, 2011
This guide is intended to assist with research into the experiences of peoples of African origin both in Africa and in the African Diaspora.

American History
by David Killian - Last Updated Aug 25, 2011

American Literature
by Cathy Eisenhower - Last Updated Jul 20, 2009
Resources related to American Literature from the Colonial period to the present.

American Studies
by David Killian - Last Updated Oct 11, 2011

AmSt 180.10W: Gentrification
by Tina Plottel - Last Updated Jan 13, 2010
This research guide in Professor Osman's class, compiled by Gelman Librarians Jennifer King and Tina Plottel.

AMST 4500W.10: Citizenship in America
by Dolsy Smith - Last Updated Sep 8, 2011
A guide to library resources at GWU.

Anthropology
by David Killian - Last Updated Jul 26, 2011
Resources for those doing research in the area of anthropology

Applying to Law School
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Aug 17, 2011
This research guide highlights the major print and online resources available at Gelman for applying to law school.

Art
by Liz Harter - Last Updated Oct 28, 2011
This guide includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources, indexes to journal articles, sources for reproductions, and web links to local libraries.

Art Therapy
by Liz Harter - Last Updated Sep 19, 2011
This guide, created for the Art Therapy graduate program, provides links to journal articles, books, theses and dissertations, APA style guides, and tutorials.

Asian American Experience
by Grace Gu - Last Updated Mar 18, 2012
This is a library research guide for UW1020: Asian American Experience

B


Banks and Banking
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Nov 30, 2011

Biography
by Janet Olsen - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012

Bonds and Other Debt Instruments
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Jan 23, 2012
This bibliography contains major sources of information on bonds, preferred stocks, and other debt instruments available through Gelman Library.

Book Reviews
by Janet Olsen - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012

Brain Matters
by Debbie Gaspar - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
UW20 course exploring "can science solve the mystery of your mind?"

British History
by David Killian - Last Updated Aug 11, 2011
This guide covers dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical sources, article databases, and other resources useful for research in British history.

British Literature
by Cathy Eisenhower - Last Updated Aug 25, 2011
Resources related to British Literature from the Medieval period to the present.

Business
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
This covers business broadly. Other research guides deal with more specific topics (e.g. Company Information).

C
China Studies
by Jing Zhong - Last Updated Nov 11, 2011
This guide will provide help on locating both electronic and print resources related to China studies.

Citation Style Guides
by Janet Olsen - Last Updated Apr 24, 2012
This guide provides information on the major forms of citation styles.

Classical & Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations
by Dolsy Smith - Last Updated May 4, 2011
Highlighting Gelman's rich resources for classical studies & archaeology.

Commodities
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Nov 30, 2011
The purpose of this bibliography is to assist those interested in commodities from an investment point of view. Those interested in commodities as items of international trade should consult the guide entitled International Trade Statistics.

Communication
by David Killian - Last Updated Aug 10, 2011
Resources for research in communications

Company Information
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated May 8, 2012
This includes the major information sources at Gelman Library that provide information about companies.

Contemporary Russian Politics
by Mark Yoffe - Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
Focuses on research tools for study of contemporary Russian politics with emphasis on issues of elections, foreign relations, ethnicity, nationalism and terrorism.

Counseling
by Cathy Eisenhower - Last Updated Mar 21, 2012
A guide for GW graduate students in the GSEHD counseling programs.

Country Information
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Apr 16, 2012
This is a selective list of resources useful in locating country information.

Covering Chaos
by Tolonda Henderson - Last Updated Mar 24, 2010
Exploring how the media covers moments of chaos such as battlefields and natural disasters.

Criminal Justice
by Mehan Dossani - Last Updated Oct 3, 2011

Crisis, Disaster, and Risk Management
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011
This is a guide to information resources for researchers working on topics in crisis and emergency management.

D
Dance
by Liz Harter - Last Updated Aug 30, 2011
This guide includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, general online resources, biography, indexes to journal articles, video resources, and local resources related to dance.

Data Management
by Kathryn Oberg, Daniel Chudnov, Debbie Bezanson, Grace Gu - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012
Data Management at George Washington University


Database Guide: JSTOR
by Janet Olsen - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012

Database Guide: LexisNexis
by Janet Olsen - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012


Database Guide: Simmons OneView
by Janet Olsen, Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated May 7, 2012
formerly Choices 3

Database Guide: Sociological Abstracts
by Janet Olsen - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012

Database Guide: WorldCat
by Janet Olsen - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012

Databases by Subject Area and A-Z
by Laura Wrubel, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated May 2, 2012
Research databases are available off-campus to members of the GWU community only and have terms of use. Selected databases are available to alumni.

Databases: Accountancy
by Laura Wrubel, Christopher Gross - Last Updated Nov 11, 2011


Databases: Africana Studies
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Sep 13, 2011
Resources listed on this page support the research needs of Africana Studies, an interdisciplinary program that focuses on the study of communities within the African diaspora, including those in the U.S., the Caribbean, and Africa.


Databases: Anthropology
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011


Databases: Art Therapy
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011

Databases: Asia
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated May 3, 2012
Global Studies Databases

Databases: Biography
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011


Databases: Biomedical Engineering
by Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Jul 27, 2011

Databases: Business
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Jul 19, 2011


Databases: Chemistry
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011




Databases: Counseling
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Mar 19, 2012







Databases: Economics
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011

Databases: Education
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011


Databases: Engineering
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011




Databases: Film Studies
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011

Databases: Finance
by Laura Wrubel, Christopher Gross - Last Updated Nov 11, 2011




Databases: Genetics
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Jul 20, 2011

Databases: Geography
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Apr 19, 2012




Databases: History
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011






Databases: Literature
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011

Databases: Marketing
by Laura Wrubel, Christopher Gross - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012








Databases: Music
by Laura Wrubel, Christopher Gross - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011


Databases: Philosophy
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011

Databases: Physics
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011



Databases: Psychology
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011



Databases: Religion
by Laura Wrubel, Christopher Gross - Last Updated Apr 30, 2012


Databases: Sociology
by Christopher Gross, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Oct 11, 2011





Decision Sciences and Operations Research
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated May 9, 2012
Resources on project management are included on the Project Management Research Guide.

Dictionaries
by Robin Kinder - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011
Most general dictionaries will be available in the reference collection located on the first floor of Gelman Library. To locate a specific dictionary, search by title or keyword in the catalog search box in the upper right hand corner of this page.

Dissertation & Fellowship Funding
by Dorinne Banks - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
This guide is intended to assist doctoral students locate dissertation and fellowship funding.

Dissertation Research--Planning, Researching, Publishing
by Dorinne Banks - Last Updated Mar 28, 2012
This guide was created to help GWU doctoral students in researching and writing their dissertation

Dissertations
by Janet Olsen - Last Updated May 2, 2012
Find dissertations

Documentary Film
by Janet Olsen - Last Updated May 10, 2012

E
EAP 1015: American Multicultural Perspectives
by Grace Gu - Last Updated Oct 17, 2011
This is a resource guide for the EAP 1015 writing course.


EAP Romanova
by Chandler Christoffel - Last Updated Oct 17, 2011

Ebooks at GWU Libraries
by Cathy Eisenhower, Laura Wrubel - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012

Economics
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
For sources of statistics the International Economic Statistics, International Finance, Banks and Banking, and U.S. Economic Statistics research guides should be consulred.

Education
by Debbie Gaspar - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
Resources for educators, pre-service teachers, and researchers getting started in the field.

Educational Administration
by Dorinne Banks - Last Updated Feb 6, 2012
A guide for GSEHD graduate students in the Educational Administration & Policy Studies program.

Election Politics: Building a Campaign
by Chandler Christoffel - Last Updated Nov 9, 2011
Library & Web Resources

Election Research (U.S.)
by Dolsy Smith - Last Updated Nov 18, 2011
This guide lists sources of data on U.S. elections available through the Gelman Library System or on the World Wide Web.

EndNote
by Dolsy Smith - Last Updated Oct 6, 2008
The following is brief guide to using the bibliographic management software EndNote.

Engineering Management and Systems Engineering
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated May 9, 2012
There is a separate research guide for knowledge management. In addition, the research guide for Decision Sciences contains some relevant material.

Entrepreneurship/Small Business
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012

European Integration
by David Ettinger, Janet Olsen - Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
A guide for students doing research related to European integration and the European Union.

Event Management
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011
This guide is intended to assist those doing research in the area of event management (event, in this context, being defined as public assembly for the purpose of education, celebration, marketing, or reunion).

Evolution of Human Thought
by Debbie Gaspar, Debbie Bezanson, Dolsy Smith, Tolonda Henderson - Last Updated Sep 28, 2011
This is a course guide for Honors 15.

F
Film Studies
by Liz Harter - Last Updated Dec 27, 2011
This guide is an aid in searching for all aspects of film study. It includes how to find books; reviews; dictionaries and encyclopedias; local and national collections; and organizations and events.

Food Studies
by Cathy Eisenhower - Last Updated Jun 1, 2011

Forensic Sciences
by Bill Gillis - Last Updated May 15, 2012


French Films at Gelman
by Cathy Eisenhower - Last Updated Jan 3, 2012

French Literature
by Cathy Eisenhower - Last Updated Oct 6, 2009
Resources related to French Literature.

G
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Studies
by Steven Mandeville-Gamble - Last Updated Nov 4, 2010
This guide is intended to help you discover resources relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered experience in the United States and internationally.

Geography
by David Killian - Last Updated Oct 11, 2011
This guide is intended to assist those doing research in the area of Geography.

Google Scholar for GW Scholars
by Dorinne Banks - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012
A guide to help students search and find academic papers, articles and other scholarly resources--all with the speed of a Google search.

Government Information
by Tina Plottel - Last Updated Mar 14, 2012
Gelman Library has been a U.S. Federal Depository Library since 1984. As a selective depository, the Library receives only some of the documents published by the government, chosen to support the research and teaching mission of the University.

Grants
by Douglas Carroll - Last Updated Mar 2, 2012

GRC Summer Reading
by Cathy Zeljak - Last Updated May 13, 2012
GRC staff recommendations for summer reading on different areas of the world, including Asia, Russia, Eurasia, Eastern Europe and Middle East.

GRC Summer Reading 2012
by Cathy Zeljak - Last Updated May 13, 2012
Global Resources Center staff recommendations for summer reading

Guide to Chinese Foreign Policy
by Jing Zhong - Last Updated Oct 10, 2011

Guide to History of Modern China
by Jing Zhong - Last Updated Feb 10, 2011
This guide provides information on journals, dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical sources, article databases, and other resources useful for research in China's modern history.

Guide to PSC6371: POLITICS OF CHINA II:
by Jing Zhong - Last Updated Feb 10, 2011

Guide to the Chinese Military
by Jing Zhong - Last Updated Mar 5, 2012
Resources in both English and Chinese relevant to the study of the Chinese military.

GWU Writing Studio
by Tina Plottel - Last Updated Feb 23, 2011

H

Harlem Renaissance
by Cathy Eisenhower - Last Updated Jan 28, 2010

Health Care Corporate Compliance
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011
This guide is aimed at those studying for the graduate certificate in health care corporate compliance and at those teaching in the program.

Healthcare MBA
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011
This guide is meant to assist those involved in the Healthcare MBA program, especially for courses unique to the program. There are other research guides (e.g. Company Information, Marketing) that may be useful to those in the program.

HIST 771: History of Epidemics
by Alex Gomes - Last Updated Feb 3, 2010

Holocaust
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated May 2, 2012

Human & Organizational Learning
by Dorinne Banks - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
A guide for GW graduate students in the Human & Organizational Learning (HOL) and Executive Leadership Program (ELP)

Human Rights Advocacy
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Sep 29, 2010
This guide is intended to help students doing research for IAFF 183.

Hurricane Katrina
by Tina Plottel - Last Updated Jun 15, 2011
Research ideas for primary and secondary sources on Hurricane Katrina

I
IAFF 005: Introduction to International Affairs
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Aug 10, 2010
This guide is designed to assist students researching the Cuban Missile Crisis.

Images in Everyday Life
by Cathy Eisenhower - Last Updated Apr 9, 2012

Industrial/Organizational Psychology
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011
This guide is especially aimed at doctoral students in the Organizational Sciences and Communication Department as well as relevant faculty in that and the Psychology Department.

Industry Information (United States)
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Feb 22, 2012
This bibliography includes the major information sources at Gelman Library that provide information about U.S. industries.

Information Technology
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011

Interior Design
by David Killian - Last Updated Sep 9, 2011
Resources for the Interior Design program.

International Economic Statistics
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Apr 29, 2012
This bibliography includes major sources of primarily multi-country economic information available at Gelman Library. Two other research guides that may prove useful are International Finance and International Trade Statistics.

International Education
by Debbie Gaspar - Last Updated Feb 15, 2012
A resource guide for the field of International Education.

International Finance
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Nov 23, 2011
This bibliography includes major sources of multi-country financial information available at Gelman Library. It does not include sources of financial data for individual countries.

International Marketing
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012
This is a list of some major sources of business and economic information on countries and regions. This bibliography does not include company directories

International Relations
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Mar 5, 2012
This is a guide to major primary and secondary sources related to international relations.

International Trade Statistics
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Aug 18, 2011

Internet Research
by Eckles Library - Last Updated Apr 21, 2009
A guide to resources for research focused on mediated communication, social networks, and the internet!

Italian 56: Italian Journeys Medieval to Postmodern
by Jing Zhong - Last Updated Jun 16, 2011
This guide aims to assist students who take Italian 56 to locate relevant resources.

Italian Literature
by Cathy Eisenhower - Last Updated Mar 31, 2010

J
Japan Studies
by Takako Suzuki - Last Updated Oct 12, 2011

Japan: Earthquake, Tsunami and Nuclear Crisis Information
by Cathy Zeljak - Last Updated Jun 15, 2011
This guide brings together resources on the recent disaster in Japan including news coverage, analysis, information on relief efforts, background information on natural disasters and nuclear power issues, etc.

Journalism
by David Killian - Last Updated Aug 30, 2011
This guide includes article databases, newspaper databases, encyclopedias, video sources, and other resources available in the field of journalism.

Judaic Studies
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated May 2, 2012
This research guide is intended to assist those doing research on Jewish topics. There is a separate research guide on the Holocaust.

K
Knowledge Management
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011

Korean Studies
by Cathy Zeljak - Last Updated Oct 17, 2011

L

Language Learners: Spanish
by Cathy Eisenhower, Janet Olsen - Last Updated May 16, 2012
Resources to help you learn and practice Spanish.

Latin American Studies
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Aug 15, 2011

Law Firm Management
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011
This guide is meant to assist those in the law firm management program in the College of Professional Studies.

Legislative Histories of US Laws
by Janet Olsen - Last Updated Apr 19, 2012

Legislative Politics
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Jul 5, 2011
This course guide is intended to assist students doing research related to the United States Congress.

Legislative Research and Writing
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
This guide is intended to assist students taking the legislative research and writing course.

Life after GW
by Ann Brown - Last Updated Feb 14, 2009
Trying to decide what the future holds? Will it be Graduate School? A new job? Check this libguide out!

M
Maps, Cartographic Resources and GIS Information
by Steven Mandeville-Gamble - Last Updated Mar 9, 2009
This guide will help you located maps, other cartographic resources, and GIS content held at the Gelman Library System and beyond.

Marketing
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Jan 25, 2012
A number of other Gelman Library research guides may also be helpful: Company Information, Industry Information, Business Indexes and Abstracts, U.S. Economic Data, International Marketing, and Public Opinion.

Mashup!
by Chandler Christoffel - Last Updated Feb 18, 2011

Media Session
by Chandler Christoffel - Last Updated Dec 3, 2010

Middle East and North Africa by GRC
by Cathy Zeljak, Oksana Prokhvacheva - Last Updated Apr 27, 2012
expanded guide that includes both English and Arabic language resources

Museum Studies
by David Killian - Last Updated Oct 11, 2011

Music
by Tina Plottel - Last Updated Jun 8, 2011

Mutual Funds
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Jan 23, 2012

N
New Books in Education Administration/Research/Organizational Leadership
by Dorinne Banks - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012
This guide is designed for GW faculty and students in the GSEHD Programs on the Virginia Science & Technology Campus. It provides a list of the new books available at the Virginia Science & Technology Campus Library.

Newspaper Research
by Tina Plottel - Last Updated Jul 6, 2011
This Research Guide serves to give pointers on how to find newspaper articles, both recent and historical. The databases and sources listed below will be useful for retrieving articles from US Newspapers and some major International newspapers.

Non-Profit Management
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Feb 22, 2012

O
Old Englishes: The Craft of Medieval Writing
by Janet Olsen - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
Class guide for Professor Leah Hamilton's First Year Writing Old Englishes: The Craft of Medieval Writing

Online Gaming
by Tolonda Henderson - Last Updated Mar 2, 2011

Organizational Sciences
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
This is aimed at students taking organizational sciences classes and faculty teaching such classes. There is a separate research guide for industrial/organizational psychology.

Origins and Evolution of Modern Thought: On Being a Eudaimonic Human
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Sep 30, 2010
The contents of this guide is drawn from a guide prepared by Gelman librarian Deborah Gaspar.

Out of Her Mind: Women and Madness Through the Lens of Literature
by Meagan Kinsley - Last Updated Mar 9, 2012
This guide is for students in Professor Shonda Goward's University Writing course.

P
Paralegal Studies
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Sep 9, 2011
This guide is intended to assist students in the paralegal studies program in their research.

Philosophy
by Dolsy Smith - Last Updated May 4, 2011

Political Management
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012
This guide highlights some important resources in political management in print and online.

Political Science
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Jan 17, 2012
This guide highlights some major print and online sources used in political science research.

Primary Sources
by Athena Smith - Last Updated Oct 12, 2010
This guide will explain primary sources and give tips on how to locate them and cite them in papers.

Project Management
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011

Protest and Civil Disobedience
by Meagan Kinsley, Dolsy Smith - Last Updated Mar 15, 2012
A research guide to resources covering political protests and civil disobedience

Psychology
by Mehan Dossani - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012

Public Administration
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Oct 11, 2011
This guide is intended to assist those doing research in the field of public administration. There is a separate guide for non-profit management.

Public Opinion Polls
by Janet Olsen - Last Updated Apr 25, 2012

Public Policy
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Dec 12, 2011
This guide lists some major general resources to assist researchers in public policy.

Publishing
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011
This is meant to assist those in the publishing program of the College of Professional Studies.

Q
Quotations
by Bill Gillis - Last Updated Apr 21, 2009

R

RefWorks
by Janet Olsen - Last Updated May 14, 2012
Quick guide to the online citation organization software called RefWorks

Religion
by Tolonda Henderson - Last Updated Nov 4, 2011
The study of Religion includes more than faith and spirituality: it is the study of history, people groups, and culture. These sources are selected as starting points for general interest as well as for advanced research.

Remix Culture
by Chandler Christoffel - Last Updated Mar 28, 2011

Research Guide to Accompany Professor Wolfe's UW20 Classes
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Sep 8, 2011
This guide will assist students in Professor Zachary Wolfe's University Writing classes with their research.

Researching Careers in Political Management
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Mar 27, 2012
This guide has been prepared to assist students in the Graduate School of Political Management in their pursuit of jobs and careers in the field.

Researching Political Concepts
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Jan 17, 2012
A research guide to assist students doing the conceptual essay assignment in Political Science 002W

Resources for Faculty
by Kathryn Oberg, Debbie Bezanson - Last Updated Dec 21, 2011
Library resources for teaching and research support

Rhet/Comp and Writing Studies
by Cathy Eisenhower - Last Updated Aug 3, 2011
A guide to resources on rhet/comp and writing studies via Gelman Library.

Russian cinema: an introduction (SLAV 2785)
by Mark Yoffe - Last Updated Sep 2, 2011
This guide is to assist in research on pre-revolutionary Russian, Soviet, and post-Soviet Russian cinema. It provides guidelines for library use and lists some of the most useful reference materials, databases, websites, and book catalogs.

S
Scholarship Information
by Debbie Gaspar - Last Updated Feb 4, 2011
Sources online and in print for locating funding and scholarships.

School Without Walls
by Debbie Gaspar, Tolonda Henderson - Last Updated Oct 12, 2010
This guide is designed especially for students attending the School Without Walls.

Science and Engineering Online Reference Collection
by Mehan Dossani - Last Updated Aug 12, 2010
One-stop shopping for handbooks, data, and quick facts in science and engineering.

Science Fiction Resources
by Steven Mandeville-Gamble - Last Updated Mar 9, 2009
Describes Science fiction resources available through the Gelman Library system.

Shakespeare in Performance
by Cathy Eisenhower - Last Updated Sep 1, 2011

Shanghai in the Spotlight
by Jing Zhong - Last Updated Oct 22, 2010
This guide is a part of the Global Resources Center's exhibit on Shanghai and World Expo 2010. It aims to provide both print and electronic resources on Shanghai, covering Shanghai's history, economy, social life, culture and architecture.

Slavery & Freedom
by Cathy Eisenhower - Last Updated Oct 7, 2011


Social Science Data Resources
by Grace Gu - Last Updated May 14, 2012
This guide identifies major numeric data resources to support quantitative research in social science.

Sociology
by David Killian - Last Updated Oct 11, 2011
Resources for research in sociology

Speak Out!: The Law, Space, and Power
by Meagan Kinsley - Last Updated Mar 5, 2012
This guide is for students in Professor Carol Hayes' University Writing course.

Special Education
by Debbie Gaspar - Last Updated Feb 14, 2012
Educational resources focusing on the unique challenges for teachers and researchers working in Special Education.

Spectral Data for Chemical Analysis
by Mehan Dossani - Last Updated Aug 18, 2009
This guide is intended to help those doing chemical analysis.

Speech and Hearing
by Mehan Dossani - Last Updated Jul 15, 2010

Sport Management
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Jan 17, 2012

Stocks
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Jan 23, 2012

T
Taiwan Studies
by Jing Zhong, Jing Zhong - Last Updated Nov 18, 2010
An introduction of our comprehensive resources on Taiwan Studies.

Tests & Mental Measurements
by Mehan Dossani - Last Updated Feb 23, 2010

The "Hip" Student's Guide to Research
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Mar 3, 2011
A guide dedicated to all the really hip students in Emily Dietsch's University Writing class.

The 2009 Economic Bail Out
by Tina Plottel - Last Updated Feb 10, 2011
Provides relevant links to government publications and suggests useful places to begin research.


The Literary Process
by Chandler Christoffel - Last Updated Apr 19, 2010

Think Tanks in China
by Jing Zhong - Last Updated Nov 17, 2009
A list of think tanks in China, their roles, specialties, and publications.

Tourism and Hospitality
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Sep 8, 2011

Treaties and International Law
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Aug 10, 2011
This guide highlights some major resources available online or in print useful for doing research on treaties or international law.

U
U.S. Economic Data
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Jan 23, 2012
A guide to major information sources at the Gelman Library that provide economic data, current and/or historical, for the United States.

U.S.-Japan Relations
by Takako Suzuki - Last Updated Jun 17, 2011
This guide provides information on journals, dictionaries, encyclopedias, databases, and other key resources for research of U.S.-Japan Relations.

United States Census
by Tina Plottel - Last Updated Apr 3, 2012
This research guide highlights the electronic and print resources published by the U.S. Census Bureau and select resources that accompany Census research.

Urban Affairs
by David Ettinger - Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
This guide is designed to accompany "The Global City in World Affairs Program."

W
Washington Area Company Information
by Shmuel Ben-Gad - Last Updated Aug 23, 2011

Washington Area Writers
by Jennifer King - Last Updated Oct 27, 2011
This guide will help you find published and unpublished materials written and collected by local authors.

Web of Science
by Debbie Bezanson - Last Updated Nov 19, 2009
The Web of Science is the best source for identifying which articles have cited a particular article, book, or other work.

Women's Studies
by Cathy Eisenhower - Last Updated Aug 2, 2011

Writing Resources
by Janet Olsen, Dolsy Smith - Last Updated May 8, 2012

Y
Yelena Bonner (1923-2011): traditions of Soviet dissent
by Cathy Zeljak - Last Updated Jul 5, 2011
Dedicated to the memory of Yelenna Bonner a world-renown Soviet/Russian human right activist, wife and inspiration for the late leading Soviet dissenter, political philosopher and humanist, Nobel Peace Price recipient physicist Andrei Sakharov.

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Receive Email Updates

Featured Librarian

Profile Image
Athena Smith
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.