Databases: Africana Studies: Africana Studies Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text offers extensive coverage of scholarly articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, as well as full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955, provides full text for more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.

Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.

Covers journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Coverage of rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Simultaneous users: 7

Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.

This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.

Africa Development Indicators (ADI) is the most detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries and spanning the period 1961 to 2008. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators. The ADI Data Availability Query shows where data is available for a given country, series, and year. It contains the value "1" for available data and ".." for missing data.

Provides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. The collection features papers from more than 35 states and was in part created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the U.S.

This database provides full-text access to articles from a number of historic African American newspapers, beginning in 1827 with Freedom's Journal. The collection contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and offers first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.

This collection features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

This resource features 64 fully searchable newspapers published in Africa before 1900 and originally archived by the British Library. Students and researchers will find news and analysis covering the European exploration of Africa, colonial exploitation, economics, Atlantic trade, the mapping of the continent, early moves towards self-governance, the growth of South Africa and much more. This database along with Readex sister databases African Newspapers, Series 1 and 2 can be searched concurrently via a single interface for access to nearly every newspaper published on the African continent in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

This resource features over 60 searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Content includes English and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. This database along with Readex sister databases African Newspapers, British Library Collection can be searched concurrently via a single interface for access to nearly every newspaper published on the African continent in the 19th and early 20th centuries. See: Africa's Historical Newspapers

Page-images from more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers illuminating the development of American culture, politics, and society across 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, or words in the complete text.

The largest and broadest online collection of genealogical records. Each record collection includes detailed information about the source, and many collections include images of primary source documents and/or transcriptions, in addition to unique name indexes. New content and updates are added weekly.

International coverage of the fields of anthropology and archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Brings together the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) from the UK.

The Baltimore Afro-American (Historical), a prominent, historic African American newspaper, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

The link goes to the History Vault main page; then look for Black Freedom Struggle under Browse Collections. This database gives allows researchers to study both well-known and unheralded events in the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of men and women who waged it. Consists of two modules: "Federal Government Records," and "Organizational Records and Personal Papers."

A multi-faceted resource that includes: The Chicago Defender, 1909-1975, an influential historical African American newspaper; International Index to Black Periodicals, coverage from 1902 onward; Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience-- Topical overviews by leading Black Studies scholars; Dissertations-- Full-text dissertations

This database is the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in the Caribbean. Featuring over 140 newspapers from 22 islands, this unique resource is a comprehensive primary resource for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century. The database chronicles the region’s evolution across two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other news items.

The Historical Chicago Defender (1909-1975), an influential, historical African American newspaper, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The Proquest collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Full text of articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Text begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox, and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Major events described in detail by both Union and Confederate papers, so their opposing perspectives are readily available.

Database will contain, when complete, over 60,000 images of original manuscripts and printed documents, enabling researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society. Section I (now available) examines cultural contacts throughout five centuries of Empire, from Columbus to decolonization. It draws upon sources such as diaries and eyewitness accounts of European travelers, correspondence and periodical literature.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Latin American Newspapers offer significant coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures. The newspapers chronicle the evolution of Latin America over two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.

This database provides access to LGBTQ+ studies scholarship, popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus.

This series consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the United States' diplomatic post in Liberia. The topics covered by these records include all aspects of relations with Liberia, and interactions of American citizens with the Liberian government and people.

This publication was the official weekly newspaper of the American Anti-Slavery Society, an abolitionist society founded by William Lloyd Garrison and Arthur Tappan. The newspaper contained essays, debates, speeches, events, reports and anything else deemed newsworthy in relation to the question of slavery in the United States and other parts of the world. Covers years 1840-1870.

Oxford Bibliographies in African American Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.

Oxford Bibliographies in Atlantic History offers exclusive, authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.

Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations.

The Pittsburgh Courier was the most widely circulated black newspaper in the U.S. in the early 20th century. It challenged the representation of African Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms in the cause of civil rights. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text.

ProQuest Religion covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. This resource presently has more than 170 journals, with most of them available with full-text. The content is full-text, scholarly, and designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections.

Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.

Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867. These petitions were from hundreds of courthouses and historical societies in 10 states and the District of Columbia. This database also includes the State Slavery Statutes collection, a comprehensive record of the laws governing American slavery from 1789-1865.

Primary sources and histories of slavery, with an emphasis on legal aspects. Includes all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.

Covers the international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences. Included are citations to journal articles and book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Many records for articles from major journals added since 2001 also include lists of works cited.