Research Guides: Mechanical Engineering: Articles & Technical Reports

Research Articles

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Database platform that links to materials in physics, engineering and related fields. Provides access to the databases Compendex, GEOBASE, and Knovel which can be searched separately or together. NOTE: For the FindIt button to work, you must allow the computer to access pop-ups when asked. Users accessing this title should use the GW VPN. Also IE 8 is no longer supported for this database.
Web of Science (WOS) This link opens in a new window
Includes several citation indices covering sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Search by a specific index, or across all indices. Citations to articles in more than 8,000 major research journals. Also permits cited reference searching (searching for articles that cite a particular author or work).

Defense Technical Information Center
Publicly available technical reports and publications from the Defense Technical Information Center (mid 1970s - present).

OSTI.GOV This link opens in a new window
Your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy. Consolidates the contents of OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database

NASA Technical Reports Server
Contains many full-text reports and conference papers from National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and National Advisory Committee on Aeronautics (NACA).
National Technical Information Service
Indexes U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information (1964 - present)
TRAIL
Technical Report Archive and Image Library. U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1975.
AERADE Reports Archive
Historically significant reports from Great Britain's Aeronautical Research Council (ARC), National Advisory Committee on Aeronautics (NACA), and some reports from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).