Research Guides: Physics & Astronomy: Background & Property Information

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
320+ full text titles with comprehensive authoritative content from a broad range of McGraw-Hill engineering publications.
SpringerLink ebooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text monographs covering Math and Statistics, Professional and Applied Computing, Energy, Computer Science, and Biomedical and Life Sciences. Users can browse individual titles or search across the entire collection.

Knovel Critical Tables (ebook)
This important, interactive Knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. (If off-campus, you must be on the VPN.
Smithsonian Physical Tables (ebook)
Classic reference source comprises 901 tables of common physical and chemical data. If off campus, you must be on the VPN.

NIST Fundamental Physical Constants
CODATA Internationally recommended values of the fundamental physical constants.
NIST Atomic Spectroscopic Database
Critically evaluated data on atomic energy levels, wavelengths, and transition probabilities. From The Atomic Energy Levels Data Center and Data Center on Atomic Transition Probabilities and Line Shapes.
X-Ray Properties of the Elements
A clickable table of elements with various x-ray properties for each.
Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data
Published for the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) to provide "critically evaluated physical and chemical property data, fully documented as to the original sources and the criteria used for evaluation."
Particle Data Group: Review of Particle Physics
Criticallty-reviewed compilation of current data on elementary particle physics
Online Particle Physics Information
Links to data, experiments, people, conferences, software and more. Compiled by the Particle Data Group and the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory.
The Net Advance of Physics
Review articles and tutorials. Maintained by MIT's Laboratory for Nuclear Science.
Energy Information Administration
US government reports and data on energy usage, forecasts, sources and more.